Story time!

Each night, around nine o’clock, my son jumps into bed and yells out “How many stories do I get?” He’s asking because if he’s gotten to bed on time, he gets his full allotment of three stories. Usually he gets it–when he doesn’t, he tends to drop his head, make that bottom lip tremble, and see if he can use parental sympathy to regain what tardiness cost him.

The point is, I’m sure I’ve made many, many mistakes as a parent, but at least I got my son to like stories. Or maybe I didn’t, because the love of a story seems pretty hardwired. But I at least nurtured it, and I’m gonna take credit for something here, dammit. I’ve loved stories for decades, from the first story I ever wrote, which was a blatant ripoff of Frog and Toad Are Friends. I’ve been lucky enough to have six novels and a few dozen short stories published, but I’ve got others sitting on my hard drive, and I thought I’d try to get them out right to readers. Hence this blog.

There’s more to stories than just ones I’m writing, of course. I love reading new stories, including the current book I’m almost done with, Jeff VanderMeer’s Finch. There will be time and space here to discuss books, too.

I look forward to interacting with people here–to reading your thoughts, criticisms, reading recommendations, etc. It’s an experiment, and I’m curious to see how it will work out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

